Unsound Festival Debuts In New York TODAY

My anticipation for the Unsound Festival's premiere in New York has been relatively short, but more intense than any Christmas morning I have ever looked forward to. During the next 10 days, areas of New York City will be saturated with some of the most experimental music in the truest sense of the word. Both Ronin of Wordless Music and Bryan Beyond/The Bunker are two of the handful of talented, significant promoters in America, and they've all paired up with festival founder Mat Schulz, whose been in town planning this massive feat.

"After seven editions in its native Kraków, Poland, Unsound Festival comes to New York for its USA debut. Stationing itself across several venues throughout Manhattan and Brooklyn, this bold, uniquely modern program of music will take in everything from classical music to post-rock, electronica to noise and beyond.

Eastern Promise a cornerstone of the festival will expose a broad range of artists from Poland, Romania, Ukraine and Belarus. The Unsound Warhol series features events dedicated to and inspired by Andy Warhol. Additionally the festival includes a kids-only workshop in electronic music, two "Silence & Noise" nights devoted to post-rock, noise and drone, a Brooklyn electronic music showcase, two Bunker nights featuring the very best in contemporary techno/house and a special Bass Mutations showcase dedicated to dubstep & its variations. Both Festival weekends will also include panels and workshops."

For the most comprehensive breakdown of the festival, please visit its press page at Backspin Promotions.

Artists include: 2562 (Netherlands), ACME (USA), Pavel Ambiont (Belarus), Vince Aletti (USA), Borne (USA), Blondes (USA), Kabir Carter (USA), Eric Cloutier (USA), Carl Craig (USA), Marcin Czubala (Poland), David Daniell (USA), Vladislav Delay (Finland), Ensemble LPR (USA), Falty DL (USA), Groupshow (Jan Jelinek, Andrew Pekler, Hanno Leichtmann) (Germany), Tim Hecker (Canada), Luke Hess (USA), Ezekiel Honig (USA), Mike Huckaby (USA), Petre Inspirescu (Romania), Jacaszek (Poland), Jan Jelinek (Germany), Kadebostan (Germany), Alexander Kaline (USA), Konque (USA), Kwartludium (Poland), Legowelt (Netherlands), Hanno Leichtmann (Germany), Alan Licht (USA), Lillevan (Germany), Sebastian Meissner (Germany), Moritz Von Oswald Trio (Germany), Mountains (USA), Nadja (Canada), Neurotic Drum Band (USA), Newworldaquarium (Netherlands), nsi. (Germany), Joshua Ott (USA), Andrew Pekler (Germany), Tristian Perich (USA), Derek Plaslaiko (USA), Pole (Germany), Barbara Preisinger (Germany), Dave Q (USA), DJ Qu (USA), Radian (Austria), Lee Renaldo (USA), Simon Reynolds (USA), Patrick Russell (USA), Sawako (USA / Japan), Anthony “Shake” Shakir (USA), Sepalcure (USA), Michael J. Schumacher (USA), Mike Servito (USA), Jacek Sienkiewicz (Poland), Spinoza (USA), Asa Stjerna (Sweden), Morton Subotnick (USA), Tape (Sweden), Tobias. (Germany), TRG (Romania), Untold (UK), Levon Vincent (USA), Xavier Van Wersch (Netherlands), Bora Yoon (USA), Zavoloka (Ukraine) and Zenial (Poland)

Head over to Halcyon's digital shop, to download a free compilation featuring artists performing at Unsound from February 4th - February 14th.

No comments: